Saturday 14 November 11:00am – Saturday 28 November 4:00pm, 2020

THE SPACE BETWEEN, Ursula Mayer, Noor Afshan Mirza & Brad Butler, The Otolith Group and Naeem Mohaiemen.

Date Saturday 14 November – Saturday 28 November 2020
Time 11:00am – 4:00pm
Location Artspace Aotearoa Cinema, 292 Karangahape Rd.
Entry Free and open to all
Part of WE ARE HERE: Artists Moving Image from the British Council Collection and LUX.

14 November 2020 - 28 November 2020

Ursula Mayer
Noor Afshan Mirza (fka Karen Mirza) & Brad Butler
The Otolith Group
Naeem Mohaiemen

A compilation of works that embody film's ability to convey a range of views by using photography, archival material and sound.

WE ARE HERE is a series of moving image programmes presented as compilations of artist films, created by some of UK’s most outstanding contemporary emerging and established artists. Artspace Aotearoa presents four of these compilations to screen for their summer Cinema programme. The artists featured use forms of biography, documentary, poetry and fiction as strategies to provoke new perspectives and discourse around issues of memory, national identity, marginality and intimacy. WE ARE HERE was curated by Tendai John Mutambu for the British Council, the UK international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities, and LUX, an international arts agency that supports and promotes artists' moving image practices. Each of the four artist film compilations screen for either two or three weeks, during which each will interrogate a specific theme.

Artists include - Noor Afshan Mirza (fka Karen Mirza) & Brad Butler, Ayo Akingbade, Duncan Campbell, Luke Fowler, Beatrice Gibson, Callum Hill, Susan Hiller, Ursula Mayer, Naeem Mohaiemen, Rosalind Nashashibi, The Otolith Group, Morgan Quaintance, Stephen Sutcliffe, Rehana Zaman.